IP Due-Diligence

Intellectual property rights such as patents, trademarks and designs are an important asset of many corporations. For a prospective purchaser of a corporation, it is essential to assess the quantity and quality of the corporation’s intellectual property rights upfront.

We do not only provide a detailed catalogue of IP rights owned by the chosen legal entity, but also give a qualitative assessment on their scope of protection, validity, and enforceability.

We can help you to put a value on the available IP rights and identify those “eggs in the basket” which might cause only unnecessary costs for maintenance.

We also analyze the products of takeover candidates and conduct a national or international Freedom-To-Operate analysis in order to find out if the purchaser runs a risk to infringe any protective rights.

We also assist you in carrying out the merger or acquisition by analyzing the provided chain of title of protective rights and providing formally correct assignment documents to enable a smooth transition at the Austrian Patent and Trademark Office.

IP rights are too important to be neglected in a due diligence analysis – contact us and we’ll get you covered!

© 2019 Puchberger & Partner Patentanwälte |

IP Due-Diligence

Gewerbliche Schutzrechte, wie Patente, Marken und Geschmacksmuster, stellen einen bedeutenden Vermögenswert vieler Unternehmen dar. Für den künftigen Erwerber eines Unternehmens ist es deshalb essentiell, die Menge und Qualität der Schutzrechte vor dem Erwerb eines Unternehmens einzuschätzen.

Wir liefern nicht nur eine detaillierte Aufstellung der gewerblichen Schutzrechte einer Rechtsperson, sondern auch eine qualitative Einschätzung des Schutzbereichs, der Rechtsbeständigkeit und der Durchsetzbarkeit.

Wir können Sie dabei unterstützen, die zum Verkauf stehenden Schutzrechte quantitativ zu bewerten und jene „schwarzen Schafe“ zu identifizieren, die lediglich unnötige Kosten für die Aufrechterhaltung generieren.

Wir analysieren auch die Produkte von Übernahmekandidaten und führen eine nationale oder internationale Freedom-To-Operate Analyse durch, um bestehende Schutzrechte zu identifizieren, die durch die Produkte möglicherweise verletzt werden.

Wir unterstützen Sie auch bei der operativen Durchführung der Fusion oder beim Unternehmenskauf, indem wir die Eigentumsverhältnisse der Schutzrechte analysieren und formal korrekte Übertragungsdokumente erstellen, die eine schnelle und problemlose Umschreibung beim Österreichischen Patentamt ermöglichen.

Gewerbliche Schutzrechte sind zu wichtig, um sie in einer Due Diligence Analyse zu vernachlässigen – wir kümmern uns gerne darum!

© 2018 Puchberger & Partner Patentanwälte |